Site Network: Home | AltComix | Coming Soon | Coming Soon

Blaze of Glory

Writer: John Ostrander, Artist: Leonardo Manco

Blaze of Glory is a four-issue Marvel Comics limited series published in 2000. It featured a dark, gritty, and violent update of Marvel's Western heroes, primarily the Two-Gun Kid, the Rawhide Kid, Kid Colt and the Outlaw Kid.

Other Marvel Western characters featured included Reno Jones, Red Wolf, Gunhawk and Caleb Hammer. The series, written by John Ostrander and drawn by Leonardo Manco, was collected as a 2002 trade paperback, Blaze of Glory: The Last Ride.

Also that year, a sequel to the Rawhide Kid's arc was released, Apache Skies, also by Ostrander and Manco.

In contrast to characters' standard looks till then, Blaze of Glory depicted them as grizzled, weather-beaten cowboys and gunfighters, wearing less stylized, more historically appropriate outfits than their classic ones. In fact, Blaze of Glory specifically retconned that the naively clean-cut Marvel Western stories of years past were merely dime novel fictions of the characters' actual lives.

Download Links:


Post a Comment